08 Feb Delete option added to Messenger
As a part of the integration of Facebook’s WhatsApp, Messenger and Instagram, the social media giant has introduced the ability to delete or
It’s simple to use the new feature. Simply tap on the text you want to delete and click “Remove for Everyone” or “Remove for You.” It’s similar to the way that the adjacent Instagram DM deletion works in that members of the chat will be notified that a message has been unsent.
This feature brings Messenger in line with WhatsApp and makes sense with the companies plan to integrate the backend of all the message platforms.
Android and iOS users with the latest version of the app will now have up to ten minutes to delete a message from individual and group conversations once it has been sent. Scrapped messages will be replaced by text marking the removal.
After the ten minute mark, users will still have the option to clear a message from their own chat history, but it will remain visible to others in the conversation.
In an interesting backstory as reported on The Verge, Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg had the ability to delete messages but others didn’t. On the same day of this revelation, Facebook announced that it would build an “